• What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #119

    Today our team members are sharing three recent and recommended reads featuring stories by Rachel Harrison, Maria Abrams and C.V. Hunt. We hope you find something you’ll love! Don’t forget to click either tag above to find more books worth your time ♥ Cackle by Rachel Harrison All her life, Annie has played it nice and safe. After being unceremoniously dumped by her longtime boyfriend, Annie seeks a fresh start. She accepts a teaching position that moves her from Manhattan to a small village upstate. She’s stunned by how perfect and picturesque the town is. The people are all friendly and warm. Her new apartment is dreamy too, minus the…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #118

    We’re back after a little break with our latest review round-up. We hope you find your new favorite book and don’t forget to click either tag above to find more good books ♥ The Burning Girls by C.J. Tudor An unconventional vicar moves to a remote corner of the English countryside, only to discover a community haunted by death and disappearances both past and present–and intent on keeping its dark secrets–in this explosive, unsettling thriller from acclaimed author C. J. Tudor. Welcome to Chapel Croft. Five hundred years ago, eight protestant martyrs were burned at the stake here. Thirty years ago, two teenage girls disappeared without a trace. And two…

  • New Years Resolutions

    2022 Resolutions: LOHF Team Edition

    We shared some great author resolutions with you all, but now it’s time for our team edition! We love working together to boost and promote diverse writers & voices, and plan to do a lot more of that in the new year – and then some! Check out what our team is aiming for in 2022. Read for myself and get past the burnout I’ve been experiencing. Emily | Twitter | Goodreads | Bookstagram  I want to read more of my backlist titles and books I HAVE PURCHASED for ME. It might mean my reviews are down to two a month for new books, but so be it. I am…

  • New Years Resolutions

    2022 Resolutions: LOHF Author Edition

    IS IT REALLY 2022 ALREADY?! It feels like we blinked, and all of 2021 disappeared right out from under us! The new year always provides a chance to reflect on how the previous one went – and for good reason! Looking back and honestly identifying what we do and don’t like about our lives and the kind of people we’ve been can be difficult, but it can also be extremely helpful in creating the sort of life that we want for ourselves. What better time to do that than right after the hustle and bustle of the holidays, when we’re finally able to relax and recenter a little? Did you…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    January New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month here and on our Bookshop.org page. You can also check out the releases for the whole year here. If you buy books through our Bookshop.org links below or from our page, we get a percentage of the sale, which helps our volunteer team continue our efforts to promote LOHF! Please let us know if we missed any new releases so we can add them to our lists! The Girl in the Lake by India Hill Brown For fans of Small Spaces, Doll Bones, and Mary Downing Hahn, a truly chilling…

  • Horror books written by women
    Ladies First Challenge

    Happy New Year | #LadiesFirst22 Challenge

    Happy new year! Today we are kicking off our annual Ladies First challenge. To participate in the challenge, simply choose a horror book written by a woman as your first book of the year and share it with us on social media under #LadiesFirst22! Here are the books some of our team members are starting the year reading: Cassie | The Haunted by Danielle Vega The Haunted (The Haunted #1) by Danielle Vega From Danielle Vega, YA’s answer to Stephen King, comes a new paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places. Hendricks Becker-O’Malley is new in…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight December 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in December as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen A mystery about a girl whose family secrets are as threatening as the desert that surrounds her—but whose quest to expose the truth may tear apart reality itself. Rylie hasn’t been back to Twentynine Palms since her dad died. She left a lot of memories out there, buried in the sand of the Mojave Desert. Memories about her…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #117

    Welcome to a new batch of review link-ups of recent reads. Go ahead and add some dark joy to your bookshelves! We hope you find your new favorite book and don’t forget to click either tag above to find more good books ♥  A Tricker-Treater Christmas by Briana Morgan Get ready to experience a monster’s high-stakes game. When one man’s wish goes horribly wrong, he must make an impossible choice. Faced with his own demons, and at the Tricker-Treater’s mercy, how far will Luke go to keep his daughter from leaving? For fans of The Tricker-Treater and Other Stories comes a fresh, festive tale of a desperate father and his struggle to…

  • Horror books written by women
    Ladies First Challenge

    #LadiesFirst22 Challenge

    It’s time for another Ladies First challenge! The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is hosting the Ladies First challenge again for the New Year! To participate in the challenge, simply choose a Ladies of Horror Fiction book as your first book of the year and share it with us on social media under #LadiesFirst22! We love seeing everyone’s picks each year. Any LOHF book counts, but I’ll post some of our recent Instagram photos for inspiration! View this post on Instagram A post shared by Bark’s Books (@barksbooks) View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jen (@bookdenjen) View this post on Instagram A post shared by Emily |…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #116

    We have three recent reads to share with you today! We hope you find your new favorite book and don’t forget to click either tag above to find more recommendations that you need in your collection. Women Make Horror: Filmmaking, Feminism, Genre edited by Alison Peirse “But women were never out there making horror films, that’s why they are not written about – you can’t include what doesn’t exist.” “Women are just not that interested in making horror films.” This is what you get when you are a woman working in horror, whether as a writer, academic, festival programmer, or filmmaker. These assumptions are based on decades of flawed scholarly,…