• What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #114

    We hope you’re all finding some time to relax and read a book or two. Our devoted team members are back to bring you three new reading recommendations! Click the tags above to read our previous review round-ups. Yours Cruelly, Elvira by Cassandra Peterson The woman behind the icon known as Elvira, Mistress of the Dark, the undisputed Queen of Halloween, reveals her full story, filled with intimate bombshells, told by the bombshell herself. On Good Friday in 1953, at only 18 months old, 25 miles from the nearest hospital in Manhattan, Kansas, Cassandra Peterson reached for a pot on the stove and doused herself in boiling water. Third-degree burns…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #113

    Today several of our team members are sharing their recent and recommended reads. We hope you find something you’ll love! Don’t forget to click either tag above to find more books worth your time ♥ The Gold Persimmon by Linsday Merbaum Clytemnestra is a check-in girl at The Gold Persimmon, a temple-like New York City hotel with gilded furnishings and carefully guarded secrets. Cloistered in her own reality, Cly lives by a strict set of rules until a connection with a troubled hotel guest threatens the world she’s so carefully constructed. In a parallel reality, an inexplicable fog envelops the city, trapping a young, nonbinary writer named Jaime in a…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #112

    Welcome to our latest review round-up! We hope you find a new favorite. Please click either tag above to read our previous recommendations. How to Recognize A Demon Has Become Your Friend by Linda Addison Who doesn’t need to know How To Recognize A Demon Has Become Your Friend? From the first African-American to receive the HWA Bram Stoker award, this collection of both horror and science fiction short stories and poetry reveals demons in the most likely people (like a jealous ghost across the street) or in unlikely places (like the dimension-shifting dreams of an American Indian). Recognition is the first step, what you do with your friends/demons after…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #111

    Today we have another round-up of recommended reads and linkage to our full reviews. Check out the previous editions by hitting the tags up above! Sed de Sangre by V. Castro Three short erotic horror stories about bloodlust: Carnival of Gore will fly you down to Rio where the vampires have congregated for their annual feast. The Four Horsemen Inn is a sad tale of sex during the apocalypse. Snake Hips is by far the hottest of them all. Do you dare enter The Pink Agave Motel? Goodreads | Amazon Audra’s Teaser Review V. Castro mingles blood, passion, and mythology in these stories and all three offered captivating worlds and characters that I’d love to see…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    November New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month here and on our Bookshop.org page. You can also check out the releases for the whole year here. Please let us know if we missed any new releases so we can add them to our lists! A Conjuring for All Seasons: An Anthology of Witch Lore featuring Hailey Piper, Stephanie M. Wytovich, K. P. Kulski, Donyae Coles, and Gaby Triana A Conjuring for All Seasons contains five dark novelettes from five practicing witches. Four seasonally themed tales based around important Wiccan celebrations join a Hoodoo story concerning…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight October 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in October as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall, illustrated by Lisa Sterle Pretty Little Liars meets Teen Wolf in this fast-paced, sharply funny, and patriarchy-smashing graphic novel from author Maggie Tokuda-Hall and artist Lisa Sterle. When the new girl is invited to join her high school’s most popular clique, she can’t believe her luck—and she can’t believe their secret, either: they’re werewolves. Fans of Mariko Tamaki and Elana K. Arnold will devour…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #110

    We’re back with our recently recommended reads and linkage to our full reviews. Check out the previous editions by hitting the tags up above! The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three. A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible. An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #109

    Today our team members are sharing three recent and recommended releases. We hope you find something you’ll love! Don’t forget to click either tag above to find more books worth your time ♥ Someone To Share My Nightmares by Sonora Taylor A band of bloodthirsty sea creatures terrorize a scientist and a journalist trapped in a Carolina cove. The seduction of a plumber making a house call becomes a nightmarish haunting for both parties. A woman transformed for her lover has second thoughts about just how good “together forever” can be. And the one man a woman wants for Christmas is the holiday demon sent to punish the wicked. “Someone…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #108

    We’re back with our recently recommended reads and linkage to our full reviews. Check out the previous 107 editions by hitting the tags up above! Dread Nation by Justina Ireland Jane McKeene was born two days before the dead began to walk the battlefields of Gettysburg and Chancellorsville—derailing the War Between the States and changing America forever. In this new nation, safety for all depends on the work of a few, and laws like the Native and Negro Reeducation Act require certain children attend combat schools to learn to put down the dead. But there are also opportunities—and Jane is studying to become an Attendant, trained in both weaponry and…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #107

    Need some new books?! Of course you do! Our team is back with some recent reading recommendations to help you out with that. Black Magic Women: Terrifying Tales by Scary Sisters, edited by Sumiko Saulson Imagine horror where black characters aren’t all tropes and the first to die; imagine a world written by black sisters where black women and femmes are in the starring roles. From flesh-eating plants to flesh eating bees; zombies to vampires to vampire-eating vampire hunters; ghosts, revenants, witches and werewolves, this book has it all. Cursed drums, cursed dolls, cursed palms, ancient spirits and goddesses create a nuanced world of Afrocentric and multicultural horror. Terrifying tales…