Book Cover for Twin Lakes: Autumn Fires
Book Reviews

Twin Lakes: The Autumn Fires by Michelle Garza & Melissa Lason Review

Book Cover for Twin Lakes: Autumn Fires

A campfire in the distance should be a relief to a victim on the run, but instead, it signals darkness and the doorway to evil…. 

When Liz accepts a ride from a stranger, she ultimately becomes the victim of a heinous crime. After fighting off her attacker, she stumbles towards a campfire in the distance and onto the scene of a violent murder. The terror of discovering a decapitated young woman is only the beginning, as when the shadows begin to move, she finds that this new killer has set his sights on her. He wants her to share in an autumn fire. 

Meanwhile local law enforcement, along with a secret group of town founders, are working to solve the murders and end to the autumn fires. Can they stop the perpetrator in time before he gets to Liz? The ancestors have centuries of wisdom on their side, and yet, will it be enough to stop a murderer calling upon the power of demons to guide him? After generations of hiding, will their identity be revealed to the unsuspecting citizens of Twin Lakes? 

From the Bram Stoker nominated authors of Mayan Blue comes a new tale woven to introduce you to the creepiest of towns. For fans of Twin Peaks, Wayward Pines, or the new Castle Rock, this one is sure to draw you in. 

Goodreads |  Sinister Grin Press  |  Amazon


Toni’s Review

Summary: A hitch hiker lands in a bunch of trouble in a small town with secrets.

What I liked: I really enjoyed the story. It almost felt like two stories wrapped in one. The hitch hiker story and the ancestors story. But the sisters writing really draws the two stories together seamlessly. The characters where very well written and three dimensional. As a reader the motivations of each character was clear and crisp. The setting was well written and draws the reader in. The pacing was spot on. There were no parts of the story that dragged at any point or where I felt the pacing was slipping.

What I didn’t like: I would have liked more of a backstory to the ancestors. We got to glimpse into the past but I feel it was like a snack sized bite in a whole world that can be built on.

My thoughts: I really enjoyed this book. There were supernatural elements, beasties and demons. There were no real love type relationships in the book but the friendships that are peppered throughout the story are heart warming and don’t feel forced. As a reader you want to meet some of the people that are players in this drama that is unfolding before your eyes. This is a story when you start reading it you don’t have a full idea as to the talents of each character. But by the end you are rooting for the good guys and hoping the bad guy losses. I can’t wait to read more from the Sisters’ of Slaughter!!!


About Michelle Garza & Melissa Lason

 Melissa Lason & Michelle Garza Author Photo
Photo Courtesy of Twitter

Michelle Garza and Melissa Lason are Bram Stoker nominated writers of horror and dark fantasy. 

Michelle Garza’s Goodreads Page

Melissa Lason’s Goodreads Page

%d bloggers like this: