Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
New Release

March 2019 LOHF New Releases

Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases

Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. If you are involved in the process of publishing a horror book written by a female author, please reach out to us and let us know so we can help to spotlight the book’s release!

We will update this page as we receive more news and information regarding releases throughout the month.

The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick by Mallory O'Meara

The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick by Mallory O’Meara

The Lady from the Black Lagoon uncovers the life and work of Milicent Patrick—one of Disney’s first female animators and the only woman in history to create one of Hollywood’s classic movie monsters.

As a teenager, Mallory O’Meara was thrilled to discover that one of her favorite movies, The Creature from the Black Lagoon, featured a monster designed by a woman, Milicent Patrick. But for someone who should have been hailed as a pioneer in the genre there was little information available. For, as O’Meara soon discovered, Patrick’s contribution had been claimed by a jealous male colleague, her career had been cut short and she soon after had disappeared from film history. No one even knew if she was still alive.

As a young woman working in the horror film industry, O’Meara set out to right the wrong, and in the process discovered the full, fascinating story of an ambitious, artistic woman ahead of her time. Patrick’s contribution to special effects proved to be just the latest chapter in a remarkable, unconventional life, from her youth growing up in the shadow of Hearst Castle, to her career as one of Disney’s first female animators. And at last, O’Meara discovered what really had happened to Patrick after The Creature’s success, and where she went.

A true-life detective story and a celebration of a forgotten feminist trailblazer, Mallory O’Meara’s The Lady from the Black Lagoon establishes Patrick in her rightful place in film history while calling out a Hollywood culture where little has changed since.

Goodreads | Amazon

Expected publication: March 5th 2019 by Hanover Square Press


The Migration by Helen Marshall

Creepy and atmospheric, evocative of Stephen King’s classic Pet Sematary, The Migration is a story of sisterhood, transformation, and the limitations of love, from a thrilling new voice in Canadian fiction.

When I was younger I didn’t know a thing about death. I thought it meant stillness, a body gone limp. A marionette with its strings cut. Death was like a long vacation – a going away.

Storms and flooding are worsening around the world, and a mysterious immune disorder has begun to afflict the young. Sophie Perella is about to begin her senior year of high school in Toronto when her little sister, Kira, is diagnosed. Their parents’ marriage falters under the strain, and Sophie’s mother takes the girls to Oxford, England, to live with their Aunt Irene. An Oxford University professor and historical epidemiologist obsessed with relics of the Black Death, Irene works with a centre that specializes in treating people with the illness. She is a friend to Sophie, and offers a window into a strange and ancient history of human plague and recovery. Sophie just wants to understand what’s happening now; but as mortality rates climb, and reports emerge of bodily tremors in the deceased, it becomes clear there is nothing normal about this condition – and that the dead aren’t staying dead. When Kira succumbs, Sophie faces an unimaginable choice: let go of the sister she knows, or take action to embrace something terrifying and new.

Tender and chilling, unsettling and hopeful, The Migration is a story of a young woman’s dawning awareness of mortality and the power of the human heart to thrive in cataclysmic circumstances.

Goodreads | Amazon

Expected publication: March 5th 2019 by Titan Books


Trinity Row by Kelly Martin

Local legend says Trinity Row is the house that won’t die. Local legend isn’t wrong.

Sixteen-year-old Ivy Black and her mom have moved in for a quick renovation to make an easy buck. Then it will be on to the next rundown, abandoned eyesore.

Simple.

Move.

Fix.

Sell.

Run.

For the last three years, Ivy and her mom have run far away from their past. That’s the thing about Trinity Row, though. It doesn’t let the past die.

When Ivy finds out that the friends she thought she made and the things she thought she’s seen aren’t exactly what she believed, she goes on a mission to free her mother from the snare of Trinity Row and the evil spirit controlling it.

Except, after a trip to Trinity Row, you’ll never want to go home again.

For fans of The Haunting of Hill House and Kendare Blake’s Anna Dressed in Blood.

Goodreads | Amazon

Expected publication: March 5th 2019 by Monster Ivy Publishing


While You Sleep by Stephanie Merritt

While You Sleep by Stephanie Merritt

A pacy, chilling psychological thriller, set to reinvent the genre.

It begins, they say, with a woman screaming…

On a remote Scottish island, the McBride house stands guard over its secrets. A century ago, a young widow and her son died mysteriously there; just last year a local boy, visiting for a dare, disappeared without a trace.

For Zoe Adams, newly arrived from America, the house offers a refuge from her failing marriage. But her peaceful retreat is disrupted by strange and disturbing events: night-time intrusions; unknown voices; a constant sense of being watched.

The locals want her to believe that these incidents are echoes of the McBrides’ dark past. Zoe is convinced the danger is closer at hand, and all-too-real – but can she uncover the truth before she is silenced?

Goodreads | Amazon

Published March 8th 2018 by HarperCollins


The Villagers by Gwyn GB

The Villagers by Gwyn GB

Darkness Falls – Shadows Kill
After her husband is killed in an accident, Alison and her daughter, Sophie, move from London to a village in Dorset, and a fresh start.
They thought they were getting a fresh start in the country…

A beautiful house, garden, friends – an idyllic new life…

But The Villagers are not all they seem to be…

Behind closed doors – in the shadows of the forest – a darkness lurks

She knows she has to protect her daughter – but from what or who?

Goodreads | Amazon

Expected publication: March 16th 2019 by Chalky Dog Publishing


Calling Back the Dead by J.R. Erickson

The sprawling Kerry Manor echoes with the ghosts of those who have lost their lives in its shadowy Gothic rooms.

A century after a fire claimed the lives of the Kerry family, another family has moved into the house. The newly restored mansion is a dream to Sammy and Corrie Flynn, but soon they will see it is actually a nightmare.

The second novel in the Northern Michigan Asylum Series will draw you from present day 2010 to a century earlier when a little girl went into the Northern Michigan Asylum and came out… EVIL.

Goodreads | Amazon

Expected publication: March 20th 2019


Guestbook: Ghost Stories by Leanne Shapton

Guestbook: Ghost Stories by Leanne Shapton

What haunts us? What can’t we let go of? A tennis prodigy collapses after his wins, crediting them to an invisible, not entirely benevolent presence, until one day he vanishes. A series of ghosts appear at their former bedsides, some distraught, some fascinated, to witness their unfamiliar occupants. A woman returns from a visit to Alcatraz with an uncomfortable feeling. The spirit of a prisoner has attached himself to you, a friend tells her. He sensed the empathy you had for those men.

Goodreads | Amazon

Expected publication: March 26th 2019 by Riverhead


Sharp & Sugar Tooth (Women Up To No Good #3) edited by Octavia Cade

Sharp & Sugar Tooth: Women Up To No Good is a horror anthology of dark fiction and darker appetites, edited by Octavia Cade. Containing 22 stories of “bad” women, and “good” women who just haven’t been caught yet, it features 22 fearless writers who identify as female, non-binary, or a marginalized sex or gender identity. It’s the third in the Women Up To No Good series, and is forthcoming at the end of 2018.

Goodreads | Amazon

Expected publication: March 26th 2019 by Upper Rubber Boot Books


Have we missed any other March 2019 LOHF titles you are excited about? Let us know in the comments!

%d bloggers like this: