What We've Been Reading
Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

What We’re Reading #57

We’ve been reading and reviewing and here’s our latest batch of recommendations. We hope you find your new favorite book!

We Wait by Megan Taylor

The wealthy Crawleys can’t abide a scandal, so when fifteen-year-old Maddie’s behaviour causes concern, she’s packed off to the family’s country estate, along with her best friend, Ellie. But while Maddie is resentful, Ellie is secretly thrilled. A whole summer at Greywater House, which she’s heard so much about – and with Maddie, who she adores…

But from the moment the girls arrive, it’s clear there’s more to the house and the family than Ellie could ever have imagined. Maddie’s aunt, Natalie, and her bedridden grandmother are far from welcoming – and something has been waiting at Greywaters, something that flits among the shadows and whispers in the night.

As the July heat rises and the girls’ relationship intensifies, the house’s ghosts can’t be contained, and it isn’t just Ellie who has reason to be afraid. Three generations of the Crawley family must face their secrets when past and present violently collide.

Amazon | Goodreads

Alex’s Teaser Review

A fun, yet serious, and great read! Highly recommended for fans of Susan Hill or Shirley Jackson – and Megan Taylor does her own little twist on what makes those aforementioned authors so loved as well. 4 stars from me!

Read Alex’s entire review on Goodreads.


Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo

Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. By age twenty, in fact, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s thrown her life away. But at her hospital bed, Alex is offered a second chance: to attend one of the world’s most elite universities on a full ride. What’s the catch, and why her?

Still searching for answers to this herself, Alex arrives in New Haven tasked by her mysterious benefactors with monitoring the activities of Yale’s secret societies. These eight windowless “tombs” are well-known to be haunts of the future rich and powerful, from high-ranking politicos to Wall Street and Hollywood’s biggest players. But their occult activities are revealed to be more sinister and more extraordinary than any paranoid imagination might conceive.

Amazon | Goodreads

Jen’s Teaser Review

I loved Ninth House. It was my first book to read by Leigh Bardugo. I have a couple of books from her other series that I’m really looking forward to getting started on. Tracy tells me Ninth House is going to have a sequel so I will be anxiously awaiting that one!

Read Jen’s entire review at Book Den.


Grief Is A False God by Gemma Amor Book cover

Grief Is A False God by Gemma Amor

Elijah Keene is trying to get by after the untimely passing of his beloved wife Jess. Overwhelmed as a single father, failing as a farmer, coming up short as a son; he struggles to distance himself from his grief. Elijah soon discovers that an unspeakable horror has arisen from the land which his family cultivated for generations. An entity of which his own father and deceased mother may have been all too aware. Grief is a False God is a chilling novelette by Gemma Amor, featuring vibrant illustrations from Anibal Santos.

Amazon | Goodreads

Emily’s Teaser Review

Check out Grief is a False God if you want an unsettling story that will also hurt your heart a bit.

Read Emily’s entire review at Goodreads.


Thank you for joining us today! We hope you found something to add to your tbr list. Please share your recent reads with us in the comments below.

If you are a LOHF writer and have a book you’d like us to consider for a review please visit our review submission page here.

%d bloggers like this: