• Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight November 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in November as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases All of Us Villains by Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman After the publication of a salacious tell-all book, the remote city of Ilvernath is thrust into worldwide spotlight. Tourists, protesters, and reporters flock to its spellshops and ruins to witness an ancient curse unfold: every generation, seven families name a champion among them to compete in a tournament to the death. The winner awards…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight October 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in October as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall, illustrated by Lisa Sterle Pretty Little Liars meets Teen Wolf in this fast-paced, sharply funny, and patriarchy-smashing graphic novel from author Maggie Tokuda-Hall and artist Lisa Sterle. When the new girl is invited to join her high school’s most popular clique, she can’t believe her luck—and she can’t believe their secret, either: they’re werewolves. Fans of Mariko Tamaki and Elana K. Arnold will devour…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction Readathon LOHFReadathon
    LOHFReadathon

    September #LOHFReadathon Favorites

    Thank you so much to everyone who joined us in celebrating our anniversary during the month of September! Below we have listed our favorite reads from the #LOHFReadathon. Be sure to let us know your favorite LOHF book that you read during September! Alex (#LOHFReadathon co-host) Many thanks to our readathon co-host Alex! You can find Alex on her YouTube channel The Bookubus, Instagram, and Twitter. Boy Parts by Eliza Clark Irina obsessively takes explicit photographs of the average-looking men she persuades to model for her, scouted from the streets of Newcastle. Placed on sabbatical from her dead-end bar job, she is offered an exhibition at a fashionable London gallery,…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight September 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in September as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases The Girls Are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh The Conjuring meets Sadie when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an internship in a haunted house and finds herself in a life-or-death struggle against an evil spirit. Dare Chase doesn’t believe in ghosts. Privately, she’s a supernatural skeptic. But publicly, she’s keeping her doubts to herself—because she’s the voice of Attachments, her brand-new paranormal investigation podcast, and she needs her ghost-loving…

  • LOHF Writers Grant
    LOHF Writers Grant

    2021 LOHF Writers Grant Recipients

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is honored to announce the recipients of the 3rd annual LOHF Writers Grant: Antonija MežnarićAriell CacciolaCaitlin MarceauCatherine LundoffChelsea DavisChristina SngEva RoslinJules GachsKatalina WattMarissa JamesNaching T. KassaNicole Givens KurtzStephanie M. WytovichSumiko SaulsonT.L. Bodine Many thanks go out to Steve Stred, Laurel Hightower, Ben Walker, S.H. Cooper, Sonora Taylor, Cemetary Gates Media, T.C. Parker, Matt Brandenburg, and anonymous donors for their incredible generosity in funding this year’s grants. We are so privileged to be teamed up with each of you!

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight August 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in August as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases A Lesson in Vengeance by Victoria Lee For fans of Wilder Girls and Ninth House comes a dark, twisty, atmospheric thriller about a boarding school haunted by its history of witchcraft and two girls dangerously close to digging up the past. Felicity Morrow is back at Dalloway School. Perched in the Catskill mountains, the centuries-old, ivy-covered campus was home until the tragic death of her girlfriend. Now, after a…

  • Guest Post
    Guest Post

    Guest Post: The History Behind POISON PRIESTESS by Lana Popović

    In the late 1600s, noblemen and women at the glittering court of Louis XIV, the Sun King, began dropping like flies. Of course, court was always a dangerous place to be, with no end of intrigue, conspiracies, and relentless jostling for the King and Queen’s mercurial favor. The kind of snake pit where those who endured knew to watch their backs, even in the company of “friends.” But as the infamous affair of the poisons began sweeping through the aristocracy, so many influential players dropped dead—many of mysterious, gruesome symptoms, others seemingly out of the blue—that rumors ran wild. The court was rife with whispers of seances, divinations, the peddling…

  • Giveaways,  LOHFReadalong,  LOHFReadathon

    LOHF Three-Year Anniversary Celebration!

    Mark your calendars: we will be celebrating our three-year anniversary throughout the month of September. We hope you will join us for a two-week readathon, two LOHF group readalongs, and an anniversary giveaway. More details below! Readathon #LOHFReadathon Our #LOHFReadathon is September 1–15 and is cohosted by Alex The Bookubus (YouTube/Instagram). For this readathon we invite you to read LOHF books from your TBR or use it as an excuse to pick up some new releases! Share what you are reading across social media using the hashtag #LOHFReadathon. Group Read #LOHFReadalong We will have two group reads in September: Crossroads by Laurel Hightower and Betty by Tiffany McDaniel. The readalong…

  • LOHFReadalong

    Help us Choose Our September Readalongs

    Have you joined us on Goodreads yet? Each month we post a poll for our members to select the next month’s readalong. We will have TWO readalongs during our anniversary celebration in September. The poll for the September readalongs ends tomorrow (Saturday, Aug 07, 2021 11:59PM PDT) so be sure to head over and vote for the book you would like to read and discuss with us next month! Poll Help us choose our September 2021 Readalong! We’re doing two this month to celebrate our LOHF 3rd Anniversary. First and second place poll winners will be discussed throughout the month of September. Beneath A Bethel The Return The Invention of…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight July 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in July as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases The River Has Teeth by Erica Waters Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers. Girls have been going missing in the woods… When Natasha’s sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a…