• What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #119

    Today our team members are sharing three recent and recommended reads featuring stories by Rachel Harrison, Maria Abrams and C.V. Hunt. We hope you find something you’ll love! Don’t forget to click either tag above to find more books worth your time ♥ Cackle by Rachel Harrison All her life, Annie has played it nice and safe. After being unceremoniously dumped by her longtime boyfriend, Annie seeks a fresh start. She accepts a teaching position that moves her from Manhattan to a small village upstate. She’s stunned by how perfect and picturesque the town is. The people are all friendly and warm. Her new apartment is dreamy too, minus the…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #118

    We’re back after a little break with our latest review round-up. We hope you find your new favorite book and don’t forget to click either tag above to find more good books ♥ The Burning Girls by C.J. Tudor An unconventional vicar moves to a remote corner of the English countryside, only to discover a community haunted by death and disappearances both past and present–and intent on keeping its dark secrets–in this explosive, unsettling thriller from acclaimed author C. J. Tudor. Welcome to Chapel Croft. Five hundred years ago, eight protestant martyrs were burned at the stake here. Thirty years ago, two teenage girls disappeared without a trace. And two…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #117

    Welcome to a new batch of review link-ups of recent reads. Go ahead and add some dark joy to your bookshelves! We hope you find your new favorite book and don’t forget to click either tag above to find more good books ♥  A Tricker-Treater Christmas by Briana Morgan Get ready to experience a monster’s high-stakes game. When one man’s wish goes horribly wrong, he must make an impossible choice. Faced with his own demons, and at the Tricker-Treater’s mercy, how far will Luke go to keep his daughter from leaving? For fans of The Tricker-Treater and Other Stories comes a fresh, festive tale of a desperate father and his struggle to…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #116

    We have three recent reads to share with you today! We hope you find your new favorite book and don’t forget to click either tag above to find more recommendations that you need in your collection. Women Make Horror: Filmmaking, Feminism, Genre edited by Alison Peirse “But women were never out there making horror films, that’s why they are not written about – you can’t include what doesn’t exist.” “Women are just not that interested in making horror films.” This is what you get when you are a woman working in horror, whether as a writer, academic, festival programmer, or filmmaker. These assumptions are based on decades of flawed scholarly,…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #115

    Today our team members are sharing three recent and recommended reads featuring stories by T.L. Bodine, Mariana Enriquez and Caitlin Marceau. We hope you find something you’ll love! Don’t forget to click either tag above to find more books worth your time ♥ House of Lazarus by T.L. Bodine Things were just starting to look up for Davin Montoya — 23 years old and freshly deceased, he’d at least found something like a family among his fellow Undead. But life as a reanimated corpse has its downfalls. Unemployment, for one, and the threat of discovery by the government’s anti-Undead Coalition, for another. As Davin tries his best to care for…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #114

    We hope you’re all finding some time to relax and read a book or two. Our devoted team members are back to bring you three new reading recommendations! Click the tags above to read our previous review round-ups. Yours Cruelly, Elvira by Cassandra Peterson The woman behind the icon known as Elvira, Mistress of the Dark, the undisputed Queen of Halloween, reveals her full story, filled with intimate bombshells, told by the bombshell herself. On Good Friday in 1953, at only 18 months old, 25 miles from the nearest hospital in Manhattan, Kansas, Cassandra Peterson reached for a pot on the stove and doused herself in boiling water. Third-degree burns…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #113

    Today several of our team members are sharing their recent and recommended reads. We hope you find something you’ll love! Don’t forget to click either tag above to find more books worth your time ♥ The Gold Persimmon by Linsday Merbaum Clytemnestra is a check-in girl at The Gold Persimmon, a temple-like New York City hotel with gilded furnishings and carefully guarded secrets. Cloistered in her own reality, Cly lives by a strict set of rules until a connection with a troubled hotel guest threatens the world she’s so carefully constructed. In a parallel reality, an inexplicable fog envelops the city, trapping a young, nonbinary writer named Jaime in a…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #112

    Welcome to our latest review round-up! We hope you find a new favorite. Please click either tag above to read our previous recommendations. How to Recognize A Demon Has Become Your Friend by Linda Addison Who doesn’t need to know How To Recognize A Demon Has Become Your Friend? From the first African-American to receive the HWA Bram Stoker award, this collection of both horror and science fiction short stories and poetry reveals demons in the most likely people (like a jealous ghost across the street) or in unlikely places (like the dimension-shifting dreams of an American Indian). Recognition is the first step, what you do with your friends/demons after…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #111

    Today we have another round-up of recommended reads and linkage to our full reviews. Check out the previous editions by hitting the tags up above! Sed de Sangre by V. Castro Three short erotic horror stories about bloodlust: Carnival of Gore will fly you down to Rio where the vampires have congregated for their annual feast. The Four Horsemen Inn is a sad tale of sex during the apocalypse. Snake Hips is by far the hottest of them all. Do you dare enter The Pink Agave Motel? Goodreads | Amazon Audra’s Teaser Review V. Castro mingles blood, passion, and mythology in these stories and all three offered captivating worlds and characters that I’d love to see…

  • What We've Been Reading
    Book Reviews,  Reading Recommendations

    What We’ve Been Reading #110

    We’re back with our recently recommended reads and linkage to our full reviews. Check out the previous editions by hitting the tags up above! The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three. A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time.A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory.And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible. An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried…