• Guest Post
    Guest Post

    Guest Post: The Alternate Reality of Internet Horror by Kate Doughty, author of THE FOLLOWER

    One of the best parts about writing a social media-based thriller was being able to spend hours on the internet in the name of research. I’m sure it will surprise absolutely no one that I ended up diving into a lot of fun horror content. For those that love all things creepy, I’m excited to be able to share some of my favorite internet spooks and Alternate Reality Games with you—for all those nights where, hey, you could go to sleep, but wouldn’t terrifying yourself with internet content be so much more fun? What is an Alternate Reality Game? Think The Blair Witch’s internet-obsessed little sister, but it’s not so…

  • LOHF Monthly Recap
    Monthly Recap

    February 2021: Monthly Recap

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team celebrated Black History Month, the Lunar New Year, and Library Lovers Day in February. If you missed any of our posts, announcements, or reviews, you can find them all listed below! News and Announcements February 2021 Readalong SelectionFor the February readalong, the members of the Ladies of Horror Fiction Goodreads group selected Lakewood by Megan Giddings. February 2021 LOHF New ReleasesEach month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. Reviews What We’ve Been Reading #82 What We’ve Been Reading #83 What We’ve Been Reading #84 What We’ve Been Reading…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    February 2021 LOHF New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. If you are involved in the process of publishing a horror book written by a woman author, please reach out to us and let us know so we can help to spotlight the book’s release! The Blood Prince of Langkasuka by Tutu Dutta The monster is not always who you expect it to be… a reimagining of the Raja Bersiong legend; a coming-of-age story of an angst-ridden young man turning into a vampire, while confronted with a chilling murder-mystery. Raja Perita Deria is a carefree and…

  • LOHF Monthly Recap
    Monthly Recap

    January 2021: Monthly Recap

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team kicked off the new year by sharing our reading resolutions for 2021! Toni also kicked off a new series where we will be sharing the books that have influenced us. Be sure to check out her post below as well as all of the new releases and reviews we shared throughout the month of January! News and Announcements January 2021 LOHF New ReleasesEach month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. February Readalong Poll ResultsOur Goodreads group has spoken! Each month the members of the Ladies of Horror Fiction…

  • Lakewood Featured Image
    LOHFReadalong

    February 2021 Readalong Selection

    Today kicks off both Black History Month and Women in Horror Month. For this month’s readalong, the members of the Ladies of Horror Fiction Goodreads group selected Lakewood by Megan Giddings. Lakewood by Megan Giddings A startling debut about class and race, Lakewood evokes a terrifying world of medical experimentation—part The Handmaid’s Tale, part The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. When Lena Johnson’s beloved grandmother dies, and the full extent of the family debt is revealed, the black millennial drops out of college to support her family and takes a job in the mysterious and remote town of Lakewood, Michigan. On paper, her new job is too good to be…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight January 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in January as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases Don’t Tell a Soul by Kirsten Miller Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect for fans of Truly Devious—a haunting story about a new girl in an old town filled with dark secrets . . . that might just kill her. People say the house is cursed.It preys on the weakest, and young women are its favorite victims.In Louth, they’re called the…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    January 2021 LOHF New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. If you are involved in the process of publishing a horror book written by a woman author, please reach out to us and let us know so we can help to spotlight the book’s release! Bloodline by Jess Lourey Perfect town. Perfect homes. Perfect families. It’s enough to drive some women mad… In a tale inspired by real events, pregnant journalist Joan Harken is cautiously excited to follow her fiancé back to his Minnesota hometown. After spending a childhood on the move and chasing the screams…

  • The Year of the Witching Readalong
    Interviews

    Q & A with Alexis Henderson | The Year of the Witching

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is hosting a readalong of The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson over on our Goodreads group. The readalong is taking place throughout the month of December so you still have time to join in and discuss it along with us. We were given the opportunity to send over our burning questions to Alexis Henderson, and she gave us the inside scoop on The Year of the Witching, her process, what she’s reading, and what’s next! Here is what she had to say: If The Year of the Witching had a playlist, what would be on it? “Seven Devils” by Florence + the…

  • Lady Horror Author Book Stack
    Ladies First Challenge

    #LadiesFirst21 Challenge

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is hosting the Ladies First challenge again for the New Year! To participate in the challenge, simply choose a Ladies of Horror Fiction book as your first book of the year and share it with us on social media under #LadiesFirst21! It’s so much fun each year trying to decide which book will be our first book of the year. Any LOHF book counts, but I’ll post some of our recent Instagram photos for inspiration! View this post on Instagram A post shared by Bark’s Books (@barksbooks) View this post on Instagram A post shared by Jen (@bookdenjen) View this post on Instagram A…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction Holiday Gift Giving Guide
    Gift Giving Guide

    A Spooky LOHF Gift Guide to Womxn-Owned Businesses

    ‘Tis the season! To support small womxn-owned businesses creating creepy gifts, that is. For you and your fellow friends looking for horror inspired clothing and unique darkly delicious decor, artwork, and more, take a look at some of these incredible shops. Be sure to order early and review all information about shipping times, as many small businesses (especially right now) will have deadlines for holiday orders. And, this list is by no means complete! If a shop you love is missing, please leave a comment so we can add it to the list. Happy hunting! Decor & Gifts aKNITomy Emily Stoneking creates unique art blending knitting and anatomy that you…