• Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    January New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month here and on our Bookshop.org page. You can also check out the releases for the whole year here. If you buy books through our Bookshop.org links below or from our page, we get a percentage of the sale, which helps our volunteer team continue our efforts to promote LOHF! Please let us know if we missed any new releases so we can add them to our lists! The Girl in the Lake by India Hill Brown For fans of Small Spaces, Doll Bones, and Mary Downing Hahn, a truly chilling…

  • Horror books written by women
    Ladies First Challenge

    Happy New Year | #LadiesFirst22 Challenge

    Happy new year! Today we are kicking off our annual Ladies First challenge. To participate in the challenge, simply choose a horror book written by a woman as your first book of the year and share it with us on social media under #LadiesFirst22! Here are the books some of our team members are starting the year reading: Cassie | The Haunted by Danielle Vega The Haunted (The Haunted #1) by Danielle Vega From Danielle Vega, YA’s answer to Stephen King, comes a new paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places. Hendricks Becker-O’Malley is new in…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight December 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in December as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases No Beauties or Monsters by Tara Goedjen A mystery about a girl whose family secrets are as threatening as the desert that surrounds her—but whose quest to expose the truth may tear apart reality itself. Rylie hasn’t been back to Twentynine Palms since her dad died. She left a lot of memories out there, buried in the sand of the Mojave Desert. Memories about her…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight November 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in November as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases All of Us Villains by Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman After the publication of a salacious tell-all book, the remote city of Ilvernath is thrust into worldwide spotlight. Tourists, protesters, and reporters flock to its spellshops and ruins to witness an ancient curse unfold: every generation, seven families name a champion among them to compete in a tournament to the death. The winner awards…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    November New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month here and on our Bookshop.org page. You can also check out the releases for the whole year here. Please let us know if we missed any new releases so we can add them to our lists! A Conjuring for All Seasons: An Anthology of Witch Lore featuring Hailey Piper, Stephanie M. Wytovich, K. P. Kulski, Donyae Coles, and Gaby Triana A Conjuring for All Seasons contains five dark novelettes from five practicing witches. Four seasonally themed tales based around important Wiccan celebrations join a Hoodoo story concerning…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight October 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in October as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall, illustrated by Lisa Sterle Pretty Little Liars meets Teen Wolf in this fast-paced, sharply funny, and patriarchy-smashing graphic novel from author Maggie Tokuda-Hall and artist Lisa Sterle. When the new girl is invited to join her high school’s most popular clique, she can’t believe her luck—and she can’t believe their secret, either: they’re werewolves. Fans of Mariko Tamaki and Elana K. Arnold will devour…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction Readathon LOHFReadathon
    LOHFReadathon

    September #LOHFReadathon Favorites

    Thank you so much to everyone who joined us in celebrating our anniversary during the month of September! Below we have listed our favorite reads from the #LOHFReadathon. Be sure to let us know your favorite LOHF book that you read during September! Alex (#LOHFReadathon co-host) Many thanks to our readathon co-host Alex! You can find Alex on her YouTube channel The Bookubus, Instagram, and Twitter. Boy Parts by Eliza Clark Irina obsessively takes explicit photographs of the average-looking men she persuades to model for her, scouted from the streets of Newcastle. Placed on sabbatical from her dead-end bar job, she is offered an exhibition at a fashionable London gallery,…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight September 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in September as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases The Girls Are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh The Conjuring meets Sadie when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an internship in a haunted house and finds herself in a life-or-death struggle against an evil spirit. Dare Chase doesn’t believe in ghosts. Privately, she’s a supernatural skeptic. But publicly, she’s keeping her doubts to herself—because she’s the voice of Attachments, her brand-new paranormal investigation podcast, and she needs her ghost-loving…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    October 2021 New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month here and on Bookshop.org. You can also check out the releases for the year here. Please let us know if we missed any new releases so we can add them to our lists! Finches by A. M. Muffaz Every family has a ghost story. This gorgeous and lyrical debut by A.M. Muffaz shares a family’s story about their ghosts in an abandoned house in a Malaysian village. Grandmother Jah is determined to return to her estranged husband’s house years after a brutal murder. Her children and her…

  • LOHF Writers Grant
    LOHF Writers Grant

    2021 LOHF Writers Grant Recipients

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is honored to announce the recipients of the 3rd annual LOHF Writers Grant: Antonija MežnarićAriell CacciolaCaitlin MarceauCatherine LundoffChelsea DavisChristina SngEva RoslinJules GachsKatalina WattMarissa JamesNaching T. KassaNicole Givens KurtzStephanie M. WytovichSumiko SaulsonT.L. Bodine Many thanks go out to Steve Stred, Laurel Hightower, Ben Walker, S.H. Cooper, Sonora Taylor, Cemetary Gates Media, T.C. Parker, Matt Brandenburg, and anonymous donors for their incredible generosity in funding this year’s grants. We are so privileged to be teamed up with each of you!