• LOHF Monthly Recap
    Monthly Recap

    January 2021: Monthly Recap

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team kicked off the new year by sharing our reading resolutions for 2021! Toni also kicked off a new series where we will be sharing the books that have influenced us. Be sure to check out her post below as well as all of the new releases and reviews we shared throughout the month of January! News and Announcements January 2021 LOHF New ReleasesEach month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. February Readalong Poll ResultsOur Goodreads group has spoken! Each month the members of the Ladies of Horror Fiction…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight January 2021

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in January as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases Don’t Tell a Soul by Kirsten Miller Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect for fans of Truly Devious—a haunting story about a new girl in an old town filled with dark secrets . . . that might just kill her. People say the house is cursed.It preys on the weakest, and young women are its favorite victims.In Louth, they’re called the…

  • LOHF Monthly Recap
    Monthly Recap

    December 2020: Monthly Recap

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team wound down the year with Christmas themed movie nights, an LOHF gift guide, interviews, reviews, a readalong, and we shared a lot of resolutions the Ladies of Horror Fiction in the community have planned for 2021! Thank you to Madeleine Swann and Alexis Henderson for taking the time to answer our questions and to all of the amazing LOHF who shared their resolutions with us this month. And thank you to the readers who continue to participate and support what we do all year long! News and Announcements December 2020 LOHF New ReleasesEach month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight December 2020

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in December as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases For Better or Cursed by Kate Williams Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this funny, action-packed sequel about a coven of witchy babysitters who realize their calling to protect the innocent and save the world from an onslaught of evil. Esme Pearl’s life used to be all about bumming rides and babysitting. Sure, it wasn’t glamorous, but it was predictable. All that…

  • LOHF Monthly Recap
    Monthly Recap

    November 2020: Monthly Recap

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team celebrated the theme of “Feast on the Family” throughout the month of November. A big thank you to Nico Bell for sharing a guest post on dysfunctional families! You can find her post below along with our Thanksgiving holiday book recommendation posts, review round ups, MG/YA spotlight, new releases list, and our December readalong selection! News and Announcements November 2020 LOHF New ReleasesEach month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. #LOHFMovieNightsThe Ladies of Horror Fiction hosted the following movie watch parties of horror movies starring and/or directed by…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight November 2020

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in November as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases This Is Not a Ghost Story by Andrea Portes I am not welcome. Somehow I know that. Something doesn’t want me here. Whatever this is, it is saying to me in a voice that cannot be heard but only felt: Get out. Daffodil Franklin has plans for a quiet summer before her freshman year at college, and luckily, she’s found the job that can give…

  • LOHF Monthly Recap
    Monthly Recap

    September 2020: Monthly Recap

    Thank you so much to the entire community for helping us celebrate our anniversary throughout the month of September! Thank you again to Steve Stred, Laurel Hightower, Andrew Cull, Cemetary Gates Media, Sonora Taylor, S.H. Cooper, Ben Walker, and anonymous donors for their incredible generosity in funding this year’s grants. And thanks also go out to Nico Bell for taking part in our interview; Jo Kaplan, Lana Popovic, Ellen Avigliano, and Jennifer Anne Gordon for allowing us to host your amazing guest posts; and Gabrielle S. Awe for showing us your shelves this month! September was such a wonderful anniversary month, and we are so grateful to you all. If…

  • Young Adult and Middle Grade Horror Spotlight
    YA and MG Horror

    YA/MG Horror Spotlight September 2020

    The Ladies of Horror Fiction team is putting a spotlight on Young Adult and Middle Grade horror each month. Below we are featuring the books that were released in September as well as what our team has been reading and reviewing. Young Adult New Releases Horrid by Katrina Leno From the author of You Must Not Miss comes a haunting contemporary horror novel that explores themes of mental illness, rage, and grief, twisted with spine-chilling elements of Stephen King and Agatha Christie. Following her father’s death, Jane North-Robinson and her mom move from sunny California to the dreary, dilapidated old house in Maine where her mother grew up. All they…

  • Guest Post
    Guest Post,  YA and MG Horror

    Guest Post: Countess Bathory the Early Years by Lana Popovic

    When I started writing YA speculative fiction, my one rule for myself was to stay firmly rooted in the present. While I’ve always enjoyed historical fantasy to the hilt—Mists of Avalon and Jacqueline Carey’s Renaissance-inspired Kushiel’s Legacy series both hold uncontested places in my heart, and I’m still totally ready to swoon over rereads of Outlander—contemporary fantasy just seemed to offer up that sweet spot for my own writing. A modern world, blessedly without the need for too much research, but with a liminal sense of existing within the seams between the mundane and the magical? Pretty much perfect. I’ll play in that sandbox all day, I thought, and never…

  • Ladies of Horror Fiction New Releases
    New Release

    September 2020 LOHF New Releases

    Each month the Ladies of Horror Fiction team posts all of the books we are aware of that will be releasing during that month. If you are involved in the process of publishing a horror book written by a female author, please reach out to us and let us know so we can help to spotlight the book’s release! The Bass Rock by Evie Wyld The lives of three women weave together across centuries in the dazzling new book from the Granta Best of Young British Novelist and author of All the Birds, Singing Surging out of the sea, the Bass Rock has always borne witness to the lives that…