Profile: Alyson Faye

Alyson lives in West Yorkshire with her husband, teen son, and four rescue animals. She has been a teacher, a carer, a road safety instructor, and a lifetime film buff. Currently, she teaches creative writing workshops and writes dark fiction, both short (flash) and long. Her short stories have appeared in print in the anthologies Women in Horror Annual 2, Stories from Stone, DeadCades:The Infernal Decimation, three Trembling with Fear volumes, Coffin Bell Journal 1, and Crackers. Her debut flash fiction collection, Badlands, was published in January 2018 by indie publisher, Chapel Town Books and her own Trio of Terror: Supernatural Tales (all set in Yorkshire) came out in December 2018. Her flash fiction has appeared in several charity anthologies and can be heard on several podcasts. Her fiction has won, or been shortlisted in several competitions and is available to read online on the Horror Tree site, and in several Siren’s Call ezines, among others.

Her latest Gothic supernatural tale, Night of the Rider, is published as an e-book by Demain.

When not writing, Alyson enjoys singing; swimming; crafting; time with her Labrador, Roxy; and eating chocolate—the darker the better.

Website | Twitter

Most Recently Published Work (as of November 2019)

Set in the world of nightclubs, bedsits and bars, during the post-war years, Maggie, a beautiful escort girl, is caught up in a violent relationship with her lover, a spiv, Johnny. Their blackmail scams lead to murder, from which Maggie escapes into marriage with a wealthy older suitor. A chance meeting with Johnny years later, tosses her back into his clutches. When his past reveals one secret too many, Maggie has to fight for her freedom and her life.

Writing about the character of Maggie, Alyson recently said: “Maggie, is a gorgeous girl, a ringer for the 1940s film noir femme fatale, Joan Bennett, who is escaping an abusive family background, and fleeing to London, falls for Johnny, a spiv, a blackmailer, and a fast-talking con man. He too has secrets in his past; one of which proves his undoing.”

Goodreads | Amazon | Amazon UK

Other Work:

DeadCades: The Infernal Decimation Goodreads | Amazon |

Night of the Rider Goodreads | Amazon |

Trembling with Fear: More Tales from the Tree Goodreads | Amazon |

Trembling with Fear: Year 2 Goodreads | Amazon |

If you are a LOHF author and would like to see your profile listed on our website please click here to submit your information.