Profile: Jacqueline West

Jacqueline West is a poet, novelist, and short story writer. Her first full-length poetry collection, Candle and Pins: Poems on Superstitions (2018) made the preliminary ballot of the Bram Stoker Awards and was nominated for an Elgin Award. Her most recent YA novel, Last Things, was published by Greenwillow/HarperCollins in 2019. Kirkus called it “A suspenseful tale wrought from power chords, creeping darkness, and disquieting twists,” and Book and Film Globe wrote, “Last Things is more than an homage to a legendary tale. It’s an expert reinvention that stands wholly on its own. And yes, you’ll want to leave the lights on.”


Jacqueline’s work for younger readers includes the New York Times-bestselling dark fantasy series The Books of Elsewhere and the award-winning fantasy The Collectors. Her short fiction and poetry for adults have appeared widely in journals and anthologies.

Website | Instagram


Awards

  • Bram Stoker Award Preliminary Ballot (Candle and Pins: Poems on Superstitions)
  • CYBILS Award for Fantasy/Science Fiction (The Books of Elsewhere: The Shadows)
  • Rhysling Award nomination (Poem: “Escaping the Dawn”)
  • Schneider Family Honor (The Collectors)
  • Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prize
  • Minnesota Book Award Finalist (The Books of Elsewhere: The Shadows, The Books of Elsewhere: Spellbound, The Collectors)
  • Silver Falchion Award, Best Middle Grade Mystery (The Books of Elsewhere: Still Life)

Most Recently Published Work (as of November 2019)

New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West captivates readers with a dark, hypnotic story about the cost of talent—and the evil that lurks just out of sight. Fans of Holly Black and Victoria Schwab will be mesmerized by this gorgeous, magnetic novel.

High school senior Anders Thorson is unusually gifted. His band, Last Things, is legendary in their northern Minnesota hometown. With guitar skills that would amaze even if he weren’t only eighteen, Anders is the focus of head-turning admiration. And Thea Malcom, a newcomer to the insular town, is one of his admirers. Thea seems to turn up everywhere Anders goes: gigs at the local coffeehouse, guitar lessons, even in the woods near Anders’s home.

When strange things start happening to Anders, blame immediately falls on Thea. But is she trying to hurt him? Or save him? Can he trust a girl who doesn’t seem to know the difference between dreams and reality? And how much are they both willing to sacrifice to get what they want? 

Told from Anders’s and Thea’s dual points of view, this exquisitely crafted novel is full of unexpected twists and is for fans of Holly Black’s The Darkest Part of the Forest and Melissa Albert’s The Hazel Wood.

Goodreads | Amazon


Other Work:

Candle and Pins: Poems on Superstition Goodreads


If you are a LOHF author and would like to see your profile listed on our website please click here to submit your information.