Profile: L. Marie Wood

L. Marie Wood is an award-winning author and screenwriter. She is the recipient of the Golden Stake Award and the Harold L. Brown Award for her fiction and screenplays. Her short story, “The Ever After” is part of the Bram Stoker Award Finalist anthology Sycorax’s Daughters. Wood was recognized in The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror, Vol. 15 and as one of the 100+ Black Women in Horror Fiction.

Website | Twitter


  • Golden Stake Award, International Vampire Film and Arts Festival, for The Promise Keeper (novel) 2019
  • Harold L. Brown Award, Northern Virginia International Film and Music Festival, for Home Party (screenplay) 2019
  • First Place Fiction/Nonfiction, The Outlet, Blue Ridge Community and Technical College, “$5.99” (short story) 2014
  • Second Place Prose, The Outlet, Blue Ridge Community and Technical College, “The Garage Door” (short story) 2013

Most Recently Published Work (as of February 2020)

A young girl, on the cusp of sexual maturity, in what is now known as Benin, West Africa, is seduced by a beautiful stranger, a man the likes of which she has never seen before. Their encounter changes her forever. She becomes an asiman, a vampire: one of the undead.

The Promise Keeper comes to her, willing her to do his bidding – to keep an unspoken promise. He probes her mind and plants suggestions so she will follow his plan, until she fights back. She runs, her travels taking her to Europe and the Caribbean over centuries to escape him. She finally settles in New York City, convinced that she has eluded him… until she falls in love.

The Promise Keeper is a story of love, despair, murder, and deceit. It is also a vampire tale like no other.

Could you keep this promise?

Goodreads | IndieBound

Other Work:

If you are a LOHF author and would like to see your profile listed on our website please click here to submit your information.