Profile: Lee Murray

Headshot of Lee Murray

Two-time international Bram Stoker Award-winner, Lee Murray is New Zealand’s most awarded speculative fiction writer and editor (twelve-time winner of the Sir Julius Vogel Award and three-time winner of the Australian Shadows Award). She is the author of numerous novels, novellas, and short fiction including the double award-winning Taine McKenna speculative thriller series (Severed Press), supernatural crime-noir series Path of Ra (Raw Dog Screaming Press) which she co-writes with Wellington author, Dan Rabarts, and debut collection Grotesque: Monster Stories. She is proud to have edited seventeen anthologies of dark fiction. Lee lives with her family in the sunny Bay of Plenty where she conjures up stories for readers of all ages from her office overlooking a cow paddock.


  • Grimshaw Sargeson Fellow, 2021
  • Honorary Literary Fellow of the New Zealand Society of Authors, Waitangi Day Honours, 2020
  • Horror Writers Association Mentor of the Year 2019
  • Life Member of Tauranga Writers, New Zealand’s longest standing writing group, 2020
  • Life Member of SpecFicNZ (Speculative Fiction Writers of New Zealand), 2018

​Current Roles

  • Acquiring Editor, Omnium Gatherum Publishing US
  • Mentor/assessor HWA, NZSA, SpecFicNZ, YNZW
  • Co-founder and facilitator for youngNZwriters
  • Co-founder Wright-Murray Residency for Speculative Fiction Writers


International Bram Stoker Award

  • 2020 WINNER for Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection for Grotesque: Monster Stories (Things in the Well)
  • 2020 WINNER for Superior Achievement in an Anthology for Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women (Omnium Gatherum Media
  • 2019 nominee for Superior Achievement in a Novel for Into the Ashes (Severed Press)
  • 2018 nominee for Superior Achievement in an Anthology for Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Terror
  • 2018 nominee for Superior Achievement in a Short Story for
  • Dead End Town in Cthulhu Deep Down Under II (Proposch, Sequeira and Stevens eds)

​Sir Julius Vogel Awards

  • Best Novel for Into the Sounds, 2019
  • Best Novel for Hounds of the Underworld with Dan Rabarts, 2018
  • Best Novel for Into the Mist, 2017
  • Best Collected Work for Te Korero Ahi Ka, with Grace Bridges and Aaron Compton, 2019
  • Best Collected Work for At the Edge with Dan Rabarts, 2017
  • Service to Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror, Lee Murray, 2017
  • Best Short Story for The Thief’s Tale, 2016
  • Best Short Story for Inside Ferndale, 2015
  • Best Novella/Novelette for Cave Fever, in Regeneration, 2014
  • Best Collected Work for Baby Teeth with Dan Rabarts, 2014
  • Best Short Story for Hope is the Thing With Feathers 2013
  • Best Youth Novel for Battle of the Birds, 2012

​Australasian Shadows Awards

  • Best Edited Work for Hellhole: An Anthology of Subterranean Horror, 2019
  • Best Edited Work for Baby Teeth with Dan Rabarts, 2014
  • Best Edited Work for Midnight Echo #15, 2020

Skoutz Award for Horror Fiction 2021 (Germany)

  • Finalist for Beutezeit (German translation of Into the Mist)

​International Imadjinn Awards, 2021

  • Finalist for Fiction Collection for Grotesque: Monster Stories


  • Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship Winner 2021
  • Honorary Fellow of the NZSA 2020
  • Beatson Fellowship Finalist 2020
  • Grimshaw Sargeson Fellowship Finalist 2016


Featured Work

What if a young girl had the power to stop her tyrannical father from battering her mother ever again?

What if a student had a secret weapon to end sexual assault by her predatory professor permanently?

What if a housewife had unusual means to get back at her controlling husband and walk away from her marriage alive?

In Giving the Devil His Due, The Pixel Project’s first charity anthology, sixteen acclaimed fantasy, science fiction, and horror authors take readers on an unforgettable journey to alternative worlds where men who abuse and murder women and girls meet their comeuppance in uncanny ways.

Featuring stories from Stephen Graham Jones, Christina Henry, Peter Tieryas, Kelley Armstrong, Linda D. Addison, Hillary Monahan, and more, Giving the Devil His Due presents sixteen stories that will make you think about the importance of justice for the victims of gender-based violence, how rare this justice is in our own world, and why we need to end violence against women once and for all.

Goodreads | Amazon

If you are a LOHF author and would like to see your profile listed on our website please click here to submit your information.