Profile: Mallory Kelly

Mallory Kelly wrote her first book before she could read with the help of her father and a quarter page of yellow construction paper. Since she was 5, she’s loved Tim Burton far more than Disney, and her horror fate was sealed when she discovered Edgar Allan Poe at the age of 10. When she was 12, she stole Tommyknockers by Stephen King from her older sister and hid it, reading at night after her parents were asleep. King became her favorite author, and her favorite book is It.

She has always loved to write but owes her decision to pursue writing as a career to her college creative writing teacher. He encouraged her to submit her stories for publication. She submitted one and waited four months for the rejection. By that time she’d learned what an independent author was and decided she’d take her future into her own hands and self-publish, though she is planning to pursue traditional publishing in the future. Right now, it’s just too fun to be free. Her thriller short story series Clown Conspiracy is available on Amazon as an e-book and paperback.

Mallory has been featured on a number of blogs and review sites and recently organized the Horror Writing Contest for WriteHive.

Mallory served four years in the United States Air Force, hoping for exotic travel and adventure. She saw Texas, New Mexico, Florida, Qatar, and Afghanistan—the ugly part. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Troy University with a Bachelor’s degree in English in 2017.

Mallory has been married to the best man in the universe since 2009, and together they have two young children. After their marriage, they lived for six years in Navarre, Florida, but gladly gave the beach up to return to mountains, red rocks, and snow in Utah. They share their lives with two ball pythons: Lucy and Loki; three fish: Pennywise, Haruki Murakami, and Fyodor Dostoyevsky; and two snails: Wilkie Collins and Mary Shelley (get it?).

Mallory spends as much time as possible creeping around the woods, making bad-ass quilts, and reading fellow indie authors. The surest way to her heart is through Harry Potter socks.

Website | Twitter


Most Recently Published Work (as of June 2020)

A rainy Colorado town.
A body—slashed, bleeding in a cornfield.
A Halloween haunted house with thousands of unsuspecting visitors a night.
And a creepy clown who isn’t on the employee register.

Detectives Carter and Shirley are sent to investigate the gruesome homicide, but at Dead End, the props are more than plastic. The detectives go in after the clown, will they both make it back out?

“Dead End” is the first in the suspenseful and addictive series of serial killer short thrillers called Clown Conspiracy by Mallory Kelly. Fans of Stephen King and Jeff Menapace will find a new favorite in emerging author Mallory Kelly.

Goodreads | Amazon

Other Works:

  • Lock the Door (Clown Conspiracy Book 2): A Short Thriller Goodreads | Amazon
  • The Back Pew (Clown Conspiracy Book 3): A Short Thriller Goodreads | Amazon
  • All Dressed Up (Clown Conspiracy Book 4): A Short Thriller Goodreads | Amazon

If you are a LOHF author and would like to see your profile listed on our website please click here to submit your information.